The Cost of a DUI in Oregon

Written by RaeAnn Christensen, Posted in Local, Posted: Tue, December 31 2013 at 4:51 PM, Updated: Tue, December 31 2013 at 6:38 PM

It’s something all too familiar for Craig Owen.

Owen says “it’s kind of funny how we’ve been in the valley the last 9 years and we’ve been dealing with drinking and driving, or people taking cabs and being smart.”

Owen used to be a drug and alcohol counselor for ADAPT in Grants Pass. The organization lost funding and he was laid off, now he owns and operates valley cab. He’s seen first hand how DUI’s can affect lives.

“You think it goes away, but it doesn’t, it’s on your record for the rest of your life,” he says.

Not counting bail, legal fees and lost wages, according to, the cost of a first time DUI in Oregon can cost up to $10,840.

To put that number in perspective, you could take 867 cab rides around Medford for the cost of a one DUI. And of course the money can be the least of costs.

Owen says “when you have to tell somebody you got a DUI, I would guess that’s pretty embarrassing and humbling, take a cab, that’s all I can say.”

A cab that could save you not just your dignity but lives. All law enforcement agencies say they will be out in full force tonight and will be watching for drunk drivers. Remember for those who want to use taxi cabs or the tow service tonight, there is going to be long wait times, so plan ahead and be patient.